I was bored at home, and sick and tired of my Windows 7 computer not working the way I want it to, so I decided to give Ubuntu a test drive, and see how I like working on Linux rather than Windows. I will use this experience to dictate my next OS, as I have a major PC upgrade coming. Anyhow, the install is easy, and went very quickly.

First, install VirtualBox on Windows 7. There are other Virtual programs, this is the one I chose. It can be downloaded here.

Run the .exe, install it as you would anything. While this is happening, go and download the version of Ubuntu you want, with 10.10 Maverick being the latest. It can be found here.

Once the install is finished, go ahead and run VirtualBox.

VirtualBox

VirtualBox

This is what the program lo0ks like, though you wont see Ubuntu running just yet.

To begin, you need to create a new Virtual Disk. Click New, then click next.

Enter a name for your OS, I named mine… Ubuntu 10.10. I know, original.

Then I selected Linux as the OS and Ubuntu as the version.

Click next again. This is the memory allotment page. You can leave it at the default, or change it depending upon your system. I increased mine to 1024Mb, which enables the system to run a bit better.

RAM Config

RAM Config

Click next. Select Boot Hard Disk, and then create new hard disk. You can obviously change this if you have one already. Click next. Click next on the new wizard that appears.

Select if you want dynamic or static sized storage. This depends upon your needs and the size of your current HDD’s. Since I am only evaluation Ubuntu, I chose Fixed-sized storage. On the next page I named the virtual disk, in this case Ubuntu. I placed the file location to a large open HDD, and then moved the slider up to 30Gb, which will be the maximum size of the virtual disk that Linux will be installed on.

Drive Size

Drive Size

Click Finish, then Finish again. Let it build the virtual disk, takes roughly 15 minutes for 30Gb.

Now you will see your disk listed in the VirtualBox Console.

Right click it and click settings.

Change the boot order to CDRom then HDD. Change the processor settings if you wish, under System.

Then click Start.

Click on Devices, and then select CD/DVD Rom, then select more CD images. Click Add, then navigate to the Ubuntu iso that you downloaded, and select that.

ISO Selection

ISO Selection

Now proceed with the Ubuntu install as normal.

I will stop here, as configuring Ubuntu is another topic all together. A really great how to guide can be found here and here.

