What I have is an existing website on Hostmonster.com. the site is built through Joomla! The site needs a redesign. Previously I installed a WAMP server on my laptop to build this site, but I ended up having difficulties with the restore. I restored my live sit onto the WAMP server just fine, but in the administration section when I clicked links it took me to my live site’s administration page, which led to quite a bit of confusion.

So as much as I would love to edit my site locally, it will not work. So here is what I will do to completely replace my website while allowing it to remain up during the design process.

I will use Hostmonster.com to create a SUBsite of my current site. I will install Joomla! on it, making a brand new blank website. I will then make modifications to the new site. I will copy over all required information and graphics from the old site to the new site.

The new site will be live, meaning that people can browse to it. but they can only get there if they know the address, which I will not give out. this allows you to view a working copy of your site as it is seen on the internet, without disturbing your current site.

Go to Hostmonster.com, and click the Control Panel Login.

Hostmonster.com Login Page

Hostmonster.com Login Page

Enter your account information, and login.

Half way down the page, under Software, click the Simple Scripts button. You are now transported to a page that contains a lot of links. Scroll down to the Content Management section, and click Joomla>

Content Management- Joomla!

Content Management- Joomla!

Click Install.

One the next page, select your version. Go with a stable one- the latest version 1.5.22 is stable. Then, give your “subsite” a name. This will be how you navigate to the site while you are developing it.

I named mine NewSite.

New Site

New Site

Check the box to agree to the terms and conditions.

Click Complete.

Installing New Site

Installing New Site

You will then be presented with a finished screen. This displays some important information:

Site URL: The address used to browse to the live site
Login URL: This is the URL you use to log in to the Joomla! Administration panel
Username: admin
Password: A temporary password, that you can change from inside of the Administration Panel
 
You now have a blank Joomla! site to edit. You can copy your existing site using Akeeba backup, and restore it to this new site if you wish. Once you are done editing this site (This is done via Unlimited FTP in the Hostmonster Control Panel):
 
You should backup your current site both with a backup program and by copying the files to a backup directory. Then you can copy your new site’s files into the original directory. Now when users browse to what was your old site, your new site is displayed. Then you can delete the sub site.
By clicking the My Installs button, then selectiong Advanced under your new site, you can view the database name, database user, and login information. I suggest leaving this all at default, though of course you can change this using Hostmonster’s PHPMyAdmin utility.
