So my boss calls me, and say Shut down Bob’s computer, now, and hangs up. It took me about 6 minutes to figure out how to do it, so I thought I would post how to do it FAST. There are a ton of sites that tell you how to do this, but they explain all the options, etc.

I know the user’s name, I also know his computer name- I named the computers after the users, how nice.

First, open the SBS Console. Click on Users and Groups tab. Right click the user you wish to remove from access quickly, and select disable. Click ok.

Open an elevated command prompt.

Type shutdown -i

Shutdown -i

Shutdown -i

This will open up the Remote Shutdown GUI.

Shutdown GUI

Shutdown GUI

Click Add. In the box that pops up, enter the users computer name, which is computername.domainname.suffix.

Set the drop down box to shut down, or restart. Set the time limit. This will display for x seconds, allowing your user to save work. In this case, I set it to five, the user would not be able to save much.

Enter a comment to keep track of this event, and click ok.

Shutdown.exe

Shutdown.exe

The users computer reboots, logging him off. Upon reboot, they can not log into the domain untill you enable their user name.

